Skip to content

The Magic of Oz: The Magic of Us

February 22, 2011
Cover of the Magic of Oz

Image via Wikipedia

When I was about seven, I loved the series of Oz books.  I firmly believed in magic and knew that everyone had that magic in them.  I didn’t know how to make it work, but I did try different things.  There were two things I longed to have in my life.  I thought they were the pinnacle of girlish beauty, and I also thought they would make me popular.  They were…dimples…and naturally curly hair.  I had neither.

I didn’t know how to make my hair curly, but I thought I might get dimples if I poked a finger in the center of either cheek.  I would sit like that for hours, then peer into the mirror to see if it (the magic) had taken effect.  It hadn’t.  For some reason, that didn’t deter me, and I kept on trying.  For most of my adult life, I had neither dimples nor naturally curly hair.

After decades of living without either treasure, I think I had subconsciously given up trying, or at least wishing I had them; I had learned to accept myself the way I was.  Recently, I looked into the mirror and smiled.  Lo and behold, there were dimples!  Not only that, but I realized they had been there for a number of years.  I thought they might have come when I gained a considerable amount of weight after quitting smoking, but no, after a large weight loss, they were still there.  And my stick-straight hair was now naturally wavy…not real tight curls, you understand, but wavy enough to curl under.  The shock nearly knocked me to my knees when I realized my hair had been wavy now for quite a few years.  I had never stopped to take stock.  I noticed both phenomenon with part of my mind, but life kept me so busy, I didn’t realize the implication.  Two of my major (to me) goals had come true, and I hadn’t even realized it.

Some years ago, after the birth of my daughter, I was having trouble seeing with my glasses on, which I always wore.  I had read that once a person reaches their thirties, their eyesight slips more quickly and it had been a couple of years since I had seen an optometrist.  During that time, I had joined a meditation group that practised various self-healing methods.  One of them was to use the energy of our spirit as directed or focused by our hands.  My eyes bothered me a bit so I regularly used this healing technique on my eyes.  I didn’t notice any big improvement; in fact, I was a little discouraged when I had trouble seeing with my glasses on.  So, I went to an optometrist.  He took his time testing my sight, both with and without my glasses.  Finally, he came back into the examination room, shaking his head.  My heart sank a little because that usually indicates bad news.

“So, what’s the verdict, doc?” I asked, trying to hide my nervousness.

A modern pair of prescription glasses with a h...

Image via Wikipedia

“I don’t understand,” he said with a frown.  “Usually, as person gets older, their eyesight deteriorates somewhat.”

“Uh huh,” I said encouragingly.

“But you…”  He stopped, turned, and looked straight at me.  “Your eyesight has improved…a significant amount.”

“How much?” I wanted to know.

“One whole diopter in one eyes,” he said, “and half a diopter in the other eye.  Your glasses are way too strong for you which is why you are having trouble seeing through them.  You’ll have to get a weaker pair.”

So there was another case where I hadn’t realized I’d reached my goal, which caused me some discomfort for about six months before I did something about it.

I did it!

© Yuri Arcurs | Dreamstime.com

I could go on and on about the various times in my life where this happened in one form or another.  However, you probably get it, most likely being a lot smarter than I was at the time.

Having these abilities is as normal as breathing, but they are a whole lot easier to use if we know how to use them.  First step is soul-searching and complete honesty with self.  How many times have you achieved a goal (a) without realizing it until some time later; and (b) there seemed to be a magic to the way it happened?  As I so often point out, everyone is psychic, but in order to use it to your own benefit, you have to know how to do it and then realize that you’ve done it.  The two above stories are actually reversed.  The latter one should be first (know how to do it) and the first one should be last (realize that you’ve done it). 

There are many worthy organization and intuitive practitioners that can help you learn…yes, right here at WordPress (Powered by Intuition is one that comes readily to mind).  My job isn’t to teach you – it’s to make you aware of what you have inside you, so that you can develop it and enjoy the fun and joy of your true birthright.  Aren’t you itching to find your teacher(s) now?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 23, 2011 12:58 pm

    Hi Gail,
    I really enjoyed your article – I was surprised and delighted to see you’d mentioned Powered by Intuition here as well. Thank you so very much!

    Reading your article brought reminded me of a long lost friend from Junior High. She told me she’d moved a mole she hated from the lower portion of her face to just under her jawbone. She showed me where it had been on her face and then where it was now hidden from view just below the jawline.

    Everyday whenever she had a moment she placed her finger on the mole and then “pretended” she was moving the mole to under her jawbone. She also said she saw this in her mind while she was physically moving her finger.

    I totally believe that she did this. I believed it then and still do. She and I both agreed that there was “magic” in the world and that all we had to do was think about something and we could make it happen.

    When I discovered “creative visualization” and “New Thought” in the early 80s – I was elated. The things I’d been doing and believed since childhood were real and being written about by others. I really thought I’d died and gone to heaven.

    Being psychic, or using our minds to manifest change, or to heal is natural as you point out. All it takes is a few experiences like the ones you’ve shared with us here to know that we can co-create our reality, reshape and heal our bodies and tune into the wisdom of the Universe!

    Thank you again for your kind words – I am truly appreciative.

    • February 24, 2011 1:50 pm

      Thanks for your anecdote, Angela. I never thought of moving a mole, but I believe it can be done. Oh heck, I KNOW it can be done. That story about my eyes is just a drop in my bucket of experiences.

      It would be nice if more people shared their experiences…not so much what they believe, but what they themselves have actually been a part of. It’s pretty hard to tell someone they didn’t experience what they did. And it’s very inspiring to hear people’s actual stories of their spiritual growth.

      Keep up the great work!

  2. February 25, 2011 8:18 am

    Hello Angel in Training — I found your blog because you found mine! How magical is that? Thank you so much for your recommendation to my blog.

    I am in love with your blog and all you have to say. It is so real how your world can be shaped by your thoughts. Just look around us…we see it happening every day…people just don’t realize they make it happen.

    I haven’t read your earlier blogs, so I don’t know if you’ve mentioned this before, but a book that really resonated with me is “The Secret.” I was turned onto it by “Down the Rabbit Hole” video. All very good commentary on just what you are speaking to in this blog.

    My own story: In 1971, I took a mind control course while in college. We were told to envision where we wanted to be 30 years from now. I began seeing myself seated at a desk, looking out at water while I write my great novel. Presently, I’m sitting at a desk, a window opens to a view of a small forest and a river winding its way along, and I’m writing. Not the great novel, mind you, but many different small projects. How cool is that! I got what I wanted and more.

    I don’t want to belittle the ideas or sound like “Polyanna,” but by gosh, there is always something to be happy about if you think about it long enough.

    Thank you for your blog and I look forward to more…
    Honey Cheers!
    Hobbit Queen

    • February 25, 2011 10:07 am

      Hiya Hobbit Queen,

      Yeah, I saw your blog at “Wizards” and was intrigued by the title. Then I saw it really was about bees and started to leave (not being really interested in beekeeping). Then I thought, what the heck, I’m here; might as well read it. I’m glad I did. I think you are a natural-born story-teller.

      Being positive is never “like Polyanna” in the derogatory sense. Being positive is the way to attract positive things in one’s life. I know that’s the way it worked for me. And if I start to get too negative, all kinds of things go wrong in my life. Believe me, I’ve tested this one thoroughly. lol

      I was glad to feature your blog in my Alert Box. I do that every so often for interesting blogs. I featured Angela Artemis’s blog Powered by Intuition for a while (don’t think she noticed lol) and will leave yours up for a while longer. I don’t think too many people come here yet, but I am hoping my stories will get spread by word of mouth.

      Anyhow, glad to see you here. Enjoy (as I will enjoy your great blog).

Leave a Reply

