Skip to content

Jake and I – Friendship Beyond the Veil

March 26, 2011
Badge from the Canadian Army Flag.

Image via Wikipedia

My friends and I did experiments with ESP.  Understand that this was the ’70s and ESP was a dirty word.  Not many people believed in angels or life after death or communication from beyond.  If they did believe in it, they kept their mouths shut.  So what my friends and I were doing was quite against the mores of society at the time.  We did it anyhow because we were hungry for knowledge.  We wanted to know how all this worked.

This one month we were experimenting with communicating with souls who had passed on.  Anne and I had gone to a séance once and it had scared the liver out of us.  But I was positive that there was a better way than that.  I’d had some success with automatic writing…well, not exactly automatic writing…I moved the pen myself, but I wrote down what came to me in a free-flowing sort of association.   The five of us were in my livingroom, sitting relaxed and open-minded.  Everyone was pretty sure the soul would come through me, and Sharon thought she could be the one to ask the soul questions.  I was a little nervous, yet determined to carry through with it.  I’d had this sense of urgency all day and a feeling of someone really needing help and asking for it.

We didn’t close the drapes; we didn’t put strange music on; we didn’t burn candles or chant meditations.  We were just a bunch of housewives, trying to find out what we could about ESP and its auxiliary abilities.  I did some deep breathing, closed my eyes, and waited.  It wasn’t long before I heard footsteps in my mind.  Sharon, a very sensitive woman, said out loud,

“Is someone there?”

I was the one who answered since whoever had made the footsteps didn’t really want to talk to Sharon.  I got to be the go-between.

“Someone is here,” I said.  “I’m not sure who, though.”

“Ask him,” Sharon urged.

I did.  He told me his name was Jake Siemens and that he was a soldier.

There was a stunned silence in the room, and then Sharon said, “Ask him what kind of soldier.”

WWII Churchill tank

WWII Churchill Mark IV tank used by the Calgary Tank Regiment - Image via Wikipedia

After a moment, I told the room, “He says he was a Canadian soldier with the 14th Army Tank Battalion (Calgary Regiment).  He can’t remember his service number.”

“Whoa, whoa,” Sharon exclaimed.  “Let’s not make him think we are interrogating him.  Why not just talk to him like a conversation, Gail?  The rest of us can send Gail energy and light.”

Everyone nodded and I returned to the conversation in my mind.  It was interesting.  I almost had a picture of Jake in my mind, a young soldier – not more than 21, I figured, with light brown hair and a pleasant smile.

He said he had lived in Calgary.  There had been some unpleasantness regarding his stepfather and he had joined the army at the Mewata base in Calgary.  After basic training, he had been sent to Camp Borden for more training as an overseas unit and then shipped to England for tank training.

I relayed this to the gals, and Sandra said, “Ask him if he remembers what year.”  Anne added, “What did he do while he was in England?|

Turning back to Jake (I was calling him this by this time and told him that my name was Gail), I said my friends were interested in finding out a little bit about him and relayed the questions to him in my mind.  There was nothing for a long time.  I was afraid I had offended him or, worse, that he had left.  Finally he said, “I won’t forget the year I joined the service.  It was 1940.  Went to Camp Borden the following year and to England later that same year.”  He was silent again for a moment, then laughed.  “I was sick as a dog on the voyage over.”  More silence.

“You don’t have to answer anything you don’t want to, Jake,” I said comfortingly.   I picked up a lot of agitation from him…then the answer came in sort of a jumbled mess.  “I want to answer. I need help.  Oh god, I am a bad man.  Please help me.”

I was a little shocked and told him of course we would help him.  But there was no response.  It seemed like he had gone.  I told the gals what had happened and that I thought he had gone.

“Tell him we will be back tomorrow at the same time, “Sharon instructed.  “Hopefully he can hear us.”

I did as I was told, never expecting what would happen the next day.

(Watch for Part II of Jake and I next – find out what we found when we
searched Canadian military records – and why Jake needed help..)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 26, 2011 3:14 pm

    Wonderful beginning to this tale of ESP. I look forward to reading more.

    • March 26, 2011 3:25 pm

      Thanks for visiting, nr – I love this story and am actually looking forward to WRITING more of it. I warn you – it is in about 3 parts, maybe 4.

  2. March 26, 2011 3:23 pm

    Nice job, Gail. I well remember that afternoon 😛

    • March 26, 2011 3:27 pm

      Thanks Sandra. Don’t think I’ll forget it any time soon either.

    • March 26, 2011 3:33 pm

      Sandra ~ If Gail omits anything (or embellishes too much) . . . let us know. 🙂

      • March 26, 2011 7:07 pm

        Oh, I will, I will, Nancy. But for this story, it’s pretty hard to embellish. She might forget and leave something out, though. So far, it’s the God’s honest truth.

  3. KenBroad permalink
    April 3, 2011 8:47 pm

    Gail,

    Sandra recommended I check this post out. I look forward to hearing the rest of the tale.

    Ken

    • April 15, 2011 10:58 pm

      Hiya Ken. I hope you enjoyed it. Sorry I was so long in putting up your post and answering – I was away for a while without a computer. As a matter of fact I’m feeling guilty so I will finish the story, or at least the next section, right now.

Trackbacks

  1. Jake and I – Death on Memorial Drive « The Accidental Psychic

Leave a Reply

